Choosing is a matter of taste, but here are the 9 craft kits we’d most like to unwrap in 2027, and what each one does best:
- A book nook kit: our pick for the best craft gift of 2027: a miniature scene you build, which lights up on a bookshelf. The shop Book Nook Kits sells bookshops, greenhouses and Japanese streets, and the code BOOKNOOK5OFF takes 5% off.
- The Woobles crochet kit: video lessons for learning to crochet from scratch.
- Elizabeth Bradley needlepoint starter kit: a small stitching project with UK-spun wool.
- Woolbuddy needle felting kit: six tiny animals from one box.
- ClassBento candle-making class: a live online lesson, with the kit posted to you.
- Diamond Art Club diamond painting: a big project for long winter evenings.
- Katy Sue card-making kit: twelve 3D cards with windows and doors that open.
- Harrisville potholder loom: pot holders for the kitchen.
- Hobbycraft string art kit: the cheapest kit here, at £7.
Three book nooks on one shelf: a London bookshop, a Victorian greenhouse and a Japanese cherry blossom alley.

What is the best craft kit?
Our overall pick is a book nook kit, but the right one depends on who you’re buying for:
- A book lover of any age: a book nook such as the Owl Bookstore, built in an evening and kept on the shelf.
- A teenager aged 14 or over: a book nook rated Easy, a first build they can finish without help.
- An adult who wants to learn a new craft: the Woobles, if they don’t mind a few attempts, or the Elizabeth Bradley needlepoint kit.
- A patient maker: the Diamond Art Club canvas, which keeps them busy for weeks.
- Someone who’d rather be taught: the ClassBento candle class.
- Someone who likes useful things: the Harrisville loom.

The best craft kits at a glance
| Kit | Best for | Age | Time | Price | Rating (reviews) | Not included |
| Book nook kit (Owl Bookstore) | Book lovers, a one-evening build | 14+ | 2 to 3 hours | about £37 | 4.94/5 (51) | Batteries (2 AAA) |
| The Woobles Pierre the Penguin | Learning to crochet | 12+ | about 6 hours (one buyer) | £23 | 4.8/5 (1,893) | Scissors |
| Elizabeth Bradley Sunflower Starter Kit | A portable stitching project | Not stated | Not stated | £29 | No reviews | Not stated |
| Woolbuddy Needle Felting Starter Kit | Cute animals, fast | Adults (Amazon UK) | First animal in under an hour (brand) | about £24 + shipping | 4.5/5 (1,342) | Spare needles |
| ClassBento Candle Making at Home | Learning with a teacher | 12+ with an adult | 1-hour class | £39 | 5/5 (134) | Hob, pan, scissors |
| Diamond Art Club Earl Grey | A long project | Not stated | Weeks of evenings | £50 | 4.9/5 (43) | Frame |
| Katy Sue Arched Floral Windows & Doors | Sending cards | Not stated | Not stated | £19.99 | No reviews | Not stated |
| Harrisville 7″ Potholder Loom Plus | Something useful | 6+ | Not stated | about £24 + about £11 shipping | No reviews | Extra loops |
| Hobbycraft Birds String Art Kit | A small budget | Not stated | Not stated | £7 | 4.6/5 (34) | Hammer |
The 9 best craft kits for 2027
1. A book nook kit: the best craft gift of 2027
A book nook is a little 3D diorama that sits between the books on a shelf, like a window onto a street, a shop or a garden. You build it from pre-cut, pre-printed wooden pieces, add the tiny furniture and props, and a built-in LED lights the scene from inside.
It’s a craft that ends with something worth displaying. A kit the shop rates Easy needs no skill beyond following the illustrated steps, and the themes range from London bookshops to Japanese alleys and greenhouses, so you can match one to the person. Most Easy kits take two to three hours, so a first-time builder aged 14 or over can usually finish one in an evening.
A good first one is the Owl Bookstore, an old London bookshop with a green front, a lit window and an open door onto shelves of tiny books. The box holds around 139 pre-cut pieces, stickers for the walls, a small file for the edges and clear panels that keep the dust off.
No glue is needed: the pieces slot together, and a touch switch turns the light on. It’s first on the Book Nook Kits Best Sellers list, and customers rate it 4.94 out of 5 (51 reviews); one wrote that “it’s easy to assemble and good.” It costs about £37 ($49.90), with free shipping to the UK.
For a bigger build, the Garden House is a Victorian greenhouse room: 176 pieces and three to four hours of building, still rated Easy, for about £45 ($59.90).
Downside: the light runs on batteries you buy separately (two AAA for the Owl Bookstore and the Garden House).
Best for: book lovers, and anyone who wants something finished on the shelf after an evening or two.
A Japanese ramen shop book nook halfway through the build, with the illustrated instructions open beside it.
2. The Woobles: learn to crochet with video lessons
The Pierre the Penguin kit arrives with the first rows already crocheted, and step-by-step videos, in left- and right-handed versions, take you through the rest. It costs £23 and is sold for ages 12 and up; buyers rate it 4.8 out of 5 (1,893 reviews).
Downside: some buyers found it harder than the “beginner” label suggests, so allow a few attempts. It also ships from the US, so order early for Christmas.
Best for: teens and adults who want to learn to crochet from scratch.
3. Elizabeth Bradley Sunflower Starter Kit: needlepoint on the go
Needlepoint means stitching wool through a stiff canvas, following a design printed on it. This British kit makes a small sunflower, about 8 x 13 cm, with wool spun and dyed in the UK. It costs £29 and is labelled beginner-friendly.
Downside: there are no customer reviews yet, and shipping costs £3.49 on orders under £49.
Best for: someone who wants a quiet project to carry around.
4. Woolbuddy Needle Felting Starter Kit: six animals in one box
Needle felting means jabbing loose wool with a barbed needle until it firms up into a shape. This kit has everything for six animals, from an owl to a shark, and the brand says the first one takes under an hour. It’s rated 4.5 out of 5 (1,342 reviews) on Amazon UK and costs about £24 ($32) on the brand’s site, plus shipping shown at checkout.
Downside: the needles are sharp and break easily, so buy spares, and the brand recommends adult supervision around children.
Best for: adults who want a quick, cute result.
5. ClassBento Candle Making at Home: learn with a teacher
For £39, you get a one-hour live online class, plus a box posted to you before the class with soy wax, wicks and a fragrance of your choice, enough for five candles. As a present, a ClassBento gift card lets the recipient choose the date. It’s rated 5 out of 5 (134 reviews).
Downside: you need a hob, a pan and scissors, children need an adult present, and the box only ships to the UK mainland.
Best for: someone who’d rather have a teacher than a booklet.
6. Diamond Art Club Earl Grey: a winter-long project
Diamond painting means sticking thousands of tiny resin “diamonds” onto a numbered canvas. This 56 cm canvas takes about 50,000 of them, in 46 colours. It costs £50 and is rated 4.9 out of 5 (43 reviews).
Downside: buyers say the canvas is sticky and its protective film is fiddly to roll back. It also needs a big table and ships from the US.
Best for: patient makers who want one project to last the winter.
7. Katy Sue Arched Floral Windows & Doors: cards to send
This UK-made kit makes twelve 3D cards, six with windows and six with doors that open, from pre-cut sheets and envelopes. It costs £19.99.
Downside: it’s on pre-order with no customer reviews yet, so check the dispatch date before Christmas.
Best for: someone who still sends birthday cards by post.
8. Harrisville Potholder Loom: something useful
On this metal loom, you weave cotton loops into square pot holders; the kit has loops for six of them. It’s sold for ages 6 and up. It costs about £24 ($31.95), plus $15 (about £11) flat-rate international shipping and any import VAT.
Downside: the loops only make six pot holders, and refills (about £15) also come from the US.
Best for: families who want to make something for the kitchen together.
9. Hobbycraft Birds String Art Kit: the cheapest kit here
You hammer small nails into a wooden board along a template, then wind coloured thread between them to draw two birds. It costs £7 and is rated 4.6 out of 5 (34 reviews).
Downside: there’s no hammer in the box, and one buyer warned “you need to bang hard to get the nails into the boards!”
Best for: a stocking filler for a teen.
Craft kits for younger crafters
For children under 12, Hobbycraft sells Galt kits at £12 each. First Knitting (6+) makes a bag, a purse and a pompom scarf, and is rated 4.6 out of 5 (52 reviews). First Sewing (5+), rated 4.6 out of 5 (44 reviews), uses foam shapes and blunt needles; one parent said it was “nice and easy to follow for my 6 year old.” Paint a Tea Set (5+) is the least well rated (4.3 from 37), because the paint can streak and wash off.
How to choose a craft kit as a gift
Match the kit to their level first: a beginner needs video help or an Easy rating. Then think about how long they’ll want it to last, from one evening to a whole winter. Finally, check what’s missing from the box, such as batteries, a hammer or a hob. If they’d rather colour than build, our pick of grown-up colouring books is a gentler option.

Craft kit FAQ
What is the best craft kit for a beginner?
One with step-by-step help and few tools. A book nook rated Easy, which comes with illustrated step-by-step instructions, or a crochet kit with video lessons you can pause and rewind.
How long does a book nook kit take to build?
Two to three hours for most kits rated Easy, such as the Owl Bookstore. The Garden House, also rated Easy but bigger, takes three to four hours, so you may want to split the build over two evenings.
What craft kits are best for adults?
For an adult who likes to display what they make, a book nook or a diamond painting; for one who wants to learn a craft, crochet or needlepoint.
What is a good craft kit for a 10-year-old?
A kit made for their age, with no sharp tools: Galt First Knitting (6+) or the Harrisville potholder loom (6+). Several kits on our main list are for ages 12 or 14 and up.
How can you tell if a craft kit is complete?
Read the “what’s included” list on the product page, then look for what’s missing: batteries, scissors, a hammer or glue. Reviews often mention the gaps too.
Sources: product pages of Book Nook Kits, The Woobles, Elizabeth Bradley, Woolbuddy, ClassBento, Diamond Art Club, Katy Sue Designs, Harrisville Designs, Hobbycraft and Amazon UK (prices, contents, ages and customer reviews), checked on 22 October 2026.